1520 Queen St. East, Sault Ste. Marie, ON
P6A 2G4
(705) 949-2301 x 4510
(705) 946-7352
1300
1965
Asima Vezina
Mark Kontulainen
Red, White & Grey
Thunderbirds

Name Title Phone Email
Asima Vezina President & Vice-Chancellor (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4117 asima.vezina@algomau.ca
Dave Trudelle Director of Student Experience (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4729 dave.trudelle@algomau.ca
Mark Kontulainen Athletics & Recreation Director, Sports Information (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4510 mark.kontulainen@algomau.ca
Rachel Johnson Varstiy Sport Coordinator (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4512 rachel.johnson@algomau.ca
A.J. Pirillo Coordinator of Operations (705) 949-2301 Ext.4514 aj.pirillo@algomau.ca



Name Sport Phone Email
Thomas Cory Basketball (M) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4516 thomas.cory@algomau.ca
Ryan Vetrie Basketball (W) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4518 ryan.vetrie@algomau.ca
Cameron Wilson Cross Country cameron.wilson@algomau.ca
Juha Kantovaara Curling (M) jkantovaara@olg.ca
Josh Porco Curling (W) josh.porco@algomau.ca
Dave Lomas Nordic Skiing David.Lomas@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (M) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (W) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Trevor Manchester Wrestling (705) 949-2301 ext. 4524 trevor.manchester@algomau.ca



News Items

Algoma

  • Thunderbird November Student-Athletes of the Month
    December 10, 2018
    Karina Cole & Bryce Davis - Student-Athletes of the Month for November

    Algoma University Thunderbird Varsity Athletics would like to Congratulate Karina Cole and Bryce Davis on being the Female and Male Student-Athletes of the Month for November.
  • Conrad Commits to Algoma Thunderbird Women's Soccer
    December 10, 2018
    Sydney Conrad Commits to Thunderbird Soccer Program

    Sydney Conrad has committed to play with the Algoma U Women's Soccer team for the 2019/ 20 season.
  • Oshawa Turul Defender Signs with Algoma U Thunderbird Soccer
    December 10, 2018
    Faith Holmes Algoma Thunderbird Soccer

    Faith Holmes is from Pickering, Ontario and is a defender who has played with the Oshawa Turul Xtreme soccer club for the past two years.
  • Algoma Varsity Council Canned Food Drive
    December 05, 2018
    Alexis Trigiani-Kirkwood & Karly Fracalanza Varsity Council Canned Food Drive

    The Algoma University Varsity Council is a committee of Student-Athletes representing all the varsity sports that advocate for the needs of their programs and fellow athletes. The Varsity Council also has a goal to inspire change within the varsity department and promotes that all Student-Athletes at Algoma have a key leadership roll in the University community as well as the city of Sault Ste. Marie.
  • Two Thunderbird Wrestlers Ranked in Top 10
    November 29, 2018
    Bryce Davis Algoma Thunderbird Wrestling

    U Sports put out their latest rankings for the sport of wrestling and two Algoma Thunderbird wrestlers made the list. Bryce Davis from Fenton, Michigan is ranked 2nd in teh 72 kg category in the country and Brody Collison from Windsor, Ontario is ranked 5th in his weight class of 57 kg. As well, the Men's Wrestling team is one spot out of cracking the top ten.