1520 Queen St. East, Sault Ste. Marie, ON
P6A 2G4
(705) 949-2301 x 4510
(705) 946-7352
1300
1965
Asima Vezina
Mark Kontulainen
Red, White & Grey
Thunderbirds

Name Title Phone Email
Asima Vezina President & Vice-Chancellor (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4117 asima.vezina@algomau.ca
Dave Trudelle Director of Student Experience (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4729 dave.trudelle@algomau.ca
Mark Kontulainen Athletics & Recreation Director, Sports Information (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4510 mark.kontulainen@algomau.ca
Rachel Johnson Varstiy Sport Coordinator (705) 949-2301 Ext. 4512 rachel.johnson@algomau.ca
A.J. Pirillo Coordinator of Operations (705) 949-2301 Ext.4514 aj.pirillo@algomau.ca



Name Sport Phone Email
Thomas Cory Basketball (M) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4516 thomas.cory@algomau.ca
Ryan Vetrie Basketball (W) (705) 949-2301 ext. 4518 ryan.vetrie@algomau.ca
Cameron Wilson Cross Country cameron.wilson@algomau.ca
Juha Kantovaara Curling (M) jkantovaara@olg.ca
Josh Porco Curling (W) josh.porco@algomau.ca
Dave Lomas Nordic Skiing David.Lomas@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (M) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Neil Ovey Soccer (W) neil.ovey@algomau.ca
Trevor Manchester Wrestling (705) 949-2301 ext. 4524 trevor.manchester@algomau.ca



News Items

Algoma

  • Unforgettable Experience for Thunderbird Wrestler Riley Tubaro
    April 18, 2019
    Canadian Wrestling Championships 2019

    Algoma Thunderbird wrestler Riley Tubaro traveled to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan to compete in the Canadian Junior/ Senior Wrestling Championships over the March 22 - 24 weekend.
  • Branch Joins Thunderbird Soccer Program
    April 18, 2019
    Jordan Branch - Algoma Thunderbird Men's Soccer

    Algoma University Varsity Athletics is pleased to announce that Jordan Branch has committed to the Men's Thunderbird Soccer program for the 2019/ 20 season. Jordan who is from Oshawa, Ontario has been a member of the FC Durham Soccer Academy.
  • Defender Dante Joins Thunderbird Men's Soccer
    April 04, 2019
    Dante Boilers joins Thunderbird Men's Soccer Program

    Algoma University Varsity Athletics is pleased to announce that Dante Boilers has committed to the Men's Thunderbird Soccer program for the 2019/ 20 season. Dante who is from Toronto, Ontario has mainly played left or right back for the FC Durham Soccer Academy.
  • Riley Tubaro, Nathan Riley Named 2018/19 Algoma U Thunderbird Athletes of the Year
    March 27, 2019
    Riley Tubaro & Nathan Riley Student-Athletes of the Year

    On March 23rd in Sault Ste Marie, Ontario, Algoma University and the Algoma University Thunderbirds Varsity Athletics Program recognized the hard work, dedication, skill, and academic achievements of their student-athletes at their annual varsity Athletics Banquet.
  • Algoma Wrestlers Return from U Sports Championships
    February 26, 2019
    Brody Collison Algoma Thunderbird Wrestling at U Sports Championship 2019

    Three Algoma Thunderbird Wrestlers returned home from the U Sports Wrestling Championship held in Calgary, Alberta and hosted by the University of Calgary Dinos.