Carleton Ravens crowned 2015 OUA Men's Fencing Champions

Carleton Ravens crowned 2015 OUA Men's Fencing Champions

ST. CATHARINES, Ont. - On Day Two at the 2015 OUA Men's Fencing Championships hosted by Brock University, the Carleton Ravens were crowned the OUA Champions for the sixth time in the program's history taking home the Charles Walter Trophy.

The Ravens captured gold in both the Epee and Foil team events and took home the bronze in Sabre. The Toronto Varsity Blues grabbed gold in the Sabre event and bronze in Foil. Rounding out the team medals on Day Two were Queens (Epee - Silver), Ottawa (Foil - Silver), Western (Sabre - Silver) and RMC (Epee - Bronze). 
In the individual results, Carleton led the way taking home three medals, including gold from Geoffrey Devaney in the Men's Foil event and silver from both Alexandre Salat (Men's Foil) and Joseph Wright (Men's Epee).

The Toronto Varsity Blues collected two medals in the Men's Sabre event from William Kinney (Gold) and Tommy Liu (Silver). Ryerson's Arseni Tikhomirov captured gold in Men's Epee event while RMC's Harrison Kelertas (Men's Epee), Ottawa's Nicholas Wagman (Men's Foil) and Western's Andrew Kennel (Men's Sabre) all took home individual bronze.

Toronto's William Kinney received the George Tully Trophy for Sportsmanship and Brock's head coach Tim Stang took home the Christian Vidosa Trophy for OUA Coach of the Year. 

Men's Epee Team

GOLD - Carleton (Costello, Valta, Wright, Zanussi)

SILVER - Queen's (Crowder, Faudemeyer, Meyer, Quinsey) 

BRONZE - RMC (Barrette-Bedard, English, James, Kelertas)


Men's Foil Team

GOLD - Carleton (Devaney, McCully, Mostovac, Salat)

SILVER - Ottawa (Balaganthan, Bermingham, Provencher, Wagman)

BRONZE - Toronto (Breu, Wolfgramm, Godin)


Men's Sabre Team

GOLD - Toronto (Florea, Kinney, Liu, Tham) 

SILVER - Western (Johnson Steeves, Kennel, Kennel, Ngan) 

BRONZE - Carleton (Tudor, Kneitz, Latchem, Phillips) 


Men's Epee

GOLD - Arseni Tikhomirov (Ryerson) 

SILVER - Joseph Wright (Carleton)

BRONZE - Harrison Kelertas (RMC)


Men's Foil

GOLD - Geoffrey Devaney (Carleton)

SILVER - Alexandre Salat (Carleton)

BRONZE - Nicholas Wagman (Ottawa)


Men's Sabre

GOLD - William Kinney (Toronto)

SILVER - Tommy Liu (Toronto) 

BRONZE - Andrew Kennel (Western) 


Major Awards

George Tully Trophy - Sportsmanship Award - William Kinney (Toronto)

Christian Vidosa Trophy - Coach of the Year - Tim Stang (Brock) 

Charles Walter Trophy - Men's Foil - Geoffrey Devaney (Carleton)

Desjarlais Trophy - Men's Epee - Arseni Tikhomirov (Ryerson) 

Schwende-Tully Trophy - Men's Sabre - William Kinney (Toronto)