Queen's women and Western men repeat as OUA champions

Queen's women and Western men repeat as OUA champions

KINGSTON, Ont. - The Queen's Gaels women were successfully able to defend their title holding off Toronto for their fourth straight championship. The Western men continued their dominance in OUA squash as well on Sunday at the Queen's ARC in Kingston, winning their 35th straight OUA championship. 

The Gaels won all five of their games while earning a 41-4 record in matches which was four better than second-place Toronto. The Gaels and Varsity Blues closed out the day in a contest that saw Queen's take the title when the Gaels Alysha Anzik defeated Toronto's Rhead Dhar in a thrilling match. Toronto finished as silver medalists while the Western Mustangs women took home bronze.

Western ran the table on the men's side winning all five of their games while going an impressive 45-0 in their matches. The Waterloo Warriors finished at 5-1 to claim silver just ahead of the bronze medalist hosts the Queen's Gaels who defeated Toronto to seal a medal position Sunday.

Leading Western to their 45th overall banner were Matt Henderson and David Mill who were named OUA All-Stars for their efforts. Mill also took home the OUA MVP award finishing 6-0 with an 18-5 record. The top rookie for men's squash went to a member of the host Gaels Alex Collins who helped his team reach the podium for OUA bronze.

Individually on the women's side, Heather McLachlin finished undefeated for the Brock Badgers at 5-0 earning her not only the OUA women's rookie of the year but the MVP title as well. The impressive first-year went 15-4 in her games from the number one position.

The coaches of the year went to Vinit Kudva of Waterloo on the men's side, his fifth straight coach of the year recognition, while Josh Ginou was named the top women's coach leading the Varsity Blues to an OUA silver.

Men's Standings (record)

1) Western (54-0)

2) Waterloo (39-15)

3) Queen's (33-21)

4) Toronto (23-31)

5) Brock (20-34)

6) Guelph (16-38)

7) McMaster (4-50)

Women's Standings (record)

1) Queen's (41-4)

2) Toronto (37-8)

3) Western (21-24)

4) Brock (18-26)

5) McMaster (11-33)

6) Waterloo (6-39)

Men's MVP

David Mill (Western)

Women's MVP

Heather McLachlan (Brock)

Men's Rookie of the Year

Alex Collins (Queen's)

Women's Rookie of the Year

Heather McLachlan (Brock)

Men's Coach of the Year

Vinit Kudva (Waterloo)

Women's Coach of the Year

Josh Ginou (Toronto)

Men's All-Stars

David Mill (Western)

Matt Henderson (Western)

Thomas Manley (Waterloo)

Mohamed Hamour (Brock)

Ravi Seth (Waterloo)

Cameron Butler (Queen's)

Women's All-Stars

Heather McLachlan (Brock)

Olivia Waite (McMaster)

Charlotte Copas (Waterloo)

Evelyn Moorhouse (Toronto)

Nora Abdelrahman Ibrahim (Queen's)

Amy Commisso (Western)