Yates Cup By the Numbers

Yates Cup By the Numbers

A look at some of the interesting stats and figures about the 107th Yates Cup presented by Pioneer.

1898 – The first year the Yates Cup was awarded. The Toronto Varsity Blues were the first team to ever win the trophy.

9 – Combined Yates Cups won by the McMaster Marauders and Guelph Gryphons. The Marauders have won six, most recently in 2012, while the Gryphons have three, with the last one coming in 1996. That number will increase to 10 on Saturday when the teams meet in the 107th Yates Cup, presented by Pioneer.

232 – Rushing yards for Guelph's Rob Farquharson in the team's 51-26 semifinal win over Western. The running back stepped up in the absence of quarterback Jazz Lindsey who left the game with an injury, and led the offence scoring three touchdowns on the afternoon.

17.8 – Points per game allowed in the regular season by the McMaster Marauders, the fewest of any OUA team.
2012 – The last time the Gryphons and Marauders met in the Yates Cup. It was McMaster who came away victorious, beating Guelph 30-13 en route to a second consecutive Vanier Cup appearance.
50 – Combined field goals made in the 2014 season by Guelph's Daniel Ferraro and McMaster's Tyler Crapigna. Both kickers eclipsed the previous OUA single-season record of 22 set by Western's Lirim Hajrullahu in 2013. Ferraro set the new benchmark, finishing with 26 field goals this season. Crapigna, with 24, also broke the OUA and CIS career records.

30 –Yates Cups won by the Western Mustangs, the most by any school.

88 – The most combined points scored in a Yates Cup game. The record was set in 1998 when the Western Mustangs defeated the Waterloo Warriors 47-41.
2 – Yates Cups games that have gone into overtime.  In 1937, Queen's and Toronto played the first ever overtime game, with Queen's coming out with a 7-6 wins. The game would not go to overtime again until 1994 when the Western Mustangs downed the Laurier Golden Hawks 38-36.
10 – Different schools to win at least one Yates Cup, including the McGill Redman who no longer compete in OUA football. Of the current 11 OUA football schools, only two – York and Carleton – have not won a Yates Cup.
48.6 – The weight in pounds of the Yates Cup. The trophy is 28 ¼ inches tall and features a wood base with seven levels, with name plates recognizing the champions of the 106 previous Yates Cups, with a bowl on top commemorating the donation of cup in 1898 by H.B. Yates.
12447 – The number of the asteroid named after the Yates Cup. 12447 was discovered in 1996 and named "Yatescup" by brothers Robert and Peter Jedicke. Robert was a member of the Western Mustangs football team that won the Yates Cup in 1981 and 1982.
Yates Cup By the Numbers
November 12, 2014 Yates Cup By the Numbers
OUA In The Huddle - Week 10
October 29, 2014 OUA In The Huddle - Week 10
OUA In The Huddle - Week 9
October 22, 2014 OUA In The Huddle - Week 9
OUA In The Huddle - Week 8
October 15, 2014 OUA In The Huddle - Week 8
OUA In The Huddle - Week 7
October 8, 2014 OUA In The Huddle - Week 7
OUA In The Huddle - Week 6
October 1, 2014 OUA In The Huddle - Week 6
September 27, 2014 GEE-GEES GET PAST BLUES
OUA In The Huddle - Week 5
September 24, 2014 OUA In The Huddle - Week 5
Gryphons shut out Gaels
September 20, 2014 Gryphons shut out Gaels